otto’s pullover

Since it is the selfish season, I put needles to work on this project.
My ottoman was sadly stained and well…sad.  It needed a sweater.

Project Notes:
Made with Cascade Ecological and a tight gauge (4.5mm)
I started at the middle of the top working outward in rounds with 4 double increases every other round to make the square top.  Cast off with a crochet bind off for stretchiness. Then, when I picked up stitches to make the sides, I picked up looking at the wrong side so the seam wound have it’s bulk on the outside.  I hoped this would make it a better fit and it seams (hee, hee) to have done the trick.

I picked up the stitches for each side separately so that I wouldn’t have to work so much heft all at once.  Also, I had a plan.  I would seam all the sides together with crocheted seaming (the bulk to the outside). The sides were worked on a knit 3, purl 1 rib.

I didn’t have enough of all the same colour.  I was trying to make the good-use of the left-overs – hence the stripes. I’m still not sure about the gold on the bottom and have not woven in my ends in case I change my mind one day.
What do you think? Rainbow striped bottom? Hot pink?

The bind off on the bottom of the rib was also a stretchy one.  Seamed together with crochet using the yarn colour from the top and Voila!!

Craftily Yours
Kristin

11 responses to “otto’s pullover

  1. LOVE it! The gold at the bottom compliments the color of the floor. I really like this a lot. It looks very tailored.

  2. Wow – that’s inventive of you. I have a piano bench… hmmm ;)

  3. Gorgeous. Well done. Such a great idea.

  4. It’s perfect just as is! GREAT job!

  5. Love it , Want it , Gotta Have it !

  6. Wow! This looks next level amazing! I kind of want to make one for my giant ottoman now too! I like the colours too – looks fantastic as is!

  7. It looks amazing! I love the gold.

  8. love it! Otto looks so chic!

  9. Where do I get the pattern? silvafam@centurylink.net

    • Hi there, There is no pattern except for the notes written into the post. Feel free to ask me questions but it has been a mighty long time since I made this so I may not have all the answers.

Leave a Reply

