Beach Baby

beach baby

Some of you might relate to this; I want to knit my baby the world!!! He is finally starting to sleep better, which means I have a few ME hours during the evening. Naturally I start think about him and how to make his life more beautiful and special. Knitting is one way to show some love. What more can a 10 month old ask for, then being hugged by a cozy sweater that was lovingly knit by his mommy.  Beach Baby by Christine H. Wilkins was one of the many patterns that was waiting to be knit in my Ravelry faves. This pretty sweater has everything; top down construction, fair-isle colour-work and minimal finishing. I was so excited that I knit it in less then 48 hours, only to find out it didn’t fit exactly the way I wanted it to. Sleeves seams were too wide and the body was too narrow for my liking. I ripped it back to the yoke and made a few adjustments. Here are my notes:

Yarn used: MadelineTosh Vintage in Tern and Bloomsbury, Cascade 220 Superwash colour #817.
Size made: 1-2 years.
I knit the pattern as is till  Divide for Body and Sleeves. This is where my adjustment comes in. I took 8 sts away from each sleeve and added it to the body as follows:
K 28 sts, slip the next 38 sts to a long piece of scrap yarn for sleeve, join and K 56 sts, slip next 38 sts to a long piece of scrap yarn for sleeve, join and K 28 sts. The rest of the body is knit the same as in the pattern.
I also picked up and knit 2 sts at armpits, once I began knitting sleeves.

Here is my little one in his sweater.beach baby

I can’t speak for all sizes in this pattern, but my friend Ellen just finished knitting the smallest size and the sleeves also look wider then they should be. For anyone interested in knitting 0-1 year size, taking away 6 sts from each sleeve and adding to the body should do the trick.

Here is a close up of the colour-work on Ellen’s sweater.
She used Anzula’s For Better or Worsted in Denim, and Madelinetosh Vintage in Butter and Creme de Menthe
beach baby

This is a free pattern and a fun one to knit! You can find it HERE

Happy knitting!!!
Iwona

Leave a Reply

