I’m Thankful I’m Knitting.

Happy Thanksgiving Weekend Everyone!

Thanksgiving in Canada is a good time to reacquaint yourself with your family dynamic, stuff your face, and knit! Some of us even have the weekend off.  Some of us (Iwona) is minding the shop, so if you are out and about you should go and visit her and pick up a project to while away the hours and help with your digestion. Yes- knitting can do that!

This weekend, I will be putting my needles towards a crocheted robot, a thrum mitten, and hopefully the sweater that I have sadly neglected.

I have given Iwona the task of compiling some project inspiration for you all here, so here goes…

The collections of projects I chose for you is all about being cozy. I am feeling a little chilly on this beautiful autumn day (most likely because I am not ready to give up my sandals).

 I really could use a pair of cozy slippers like this one.  Wanderers: Modern Mukluks  by Andrea Mowry are fair isle slippers knit in a worsted weight yarn and 5mm needles. Wouldn’t you love a pair?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This oversized shawl design by German superstar Martina Behm  has been on my to do list for a while now. Nuvem is knit lace weight yarn, using 3.5mm needles.

wrap

Ombre Cowl Hood, by Hilary Carr is a pattern I discovered recently. One of my good friends made it in shades of white and grey. Clever and simple technique might appeal to less experienced knitters. We even have perfect yarn for it, Shibui Silk Cloud (my favorite yarn).

ombre cowl

Angles blanket

And lets not forget blankets. Here are 2 patterns to keep your entire body toasty and warm.

Blanket pattern above Angles is another great one form Martina Behm, mentioned earlier. Blanket is reversible and it is knit in garter stitch. Lovely choice of colour.

Second blanket is crochet, and it might look familiar to some of you. It’s because we offer it as a workshop. The pattern is called Hexagon how to by Attick 24. There is many, many , many colour ways of this beautiful blanket. Here is another one that would look perfect on my couch, or yours.

crochet blanket

Last pattern is to remain us that Halloween is just around the corner! Do you have your costume yet? If not maybe superhero? Here is a good start to your costume, Masked Superhero and Burglar Hats by Sunshine Stewart.

hat

Happy Thanksgiving!

Iwona

Leave a Reply

