lickity-split fingerless mitts

Lickity Split Fingerless Mitts made with Brooklyn Tweed Quarry in Lapis

This is one of the fastest things you ever will make.  It is a pattern we teach in our Knit 101 class, so it is not too tricky.  

Materials: 1 skein Chunky Weight Yarn like Mano del Uraguay Classica, or Brooklyn Tweed Quarry,.

6mm dpns, or long circular for magic loop

Gauge: 14sts and 22 rows per 10cm/4 inches

Sizes 1 (2)

Finished Dimensions (circumference x length) 16cm/6” x 21cm/ 8”, (18cm/7” x 22cm/8.5”)

Cast On loosely. We cast on with the long tail cast on over two needles. 24 (28)sts

Join in a round. Be careful not to twist.

K2 P2 ribbing for 7cm/2.5 inches

Knit in stocking stitch (this is knit every round) for 7cm/2.5 inches more

Turn so you are looking at the purl side. You will be working the thumb hole back and forth in rows as in flat knitting, not in rounds

Purl 1 row, turn

Knit 1 row, turn

Repeat these two rows till thumb opening measures 4cm/1.5”(5cm/2”)

Do not turn after your last knit row and rejoin in a round with K2, P2 ribbing for 4cm/1.5 inches

Bind off loosely in K2 P2 pattern or in simple all knit bind off

Weave in ends and make another mitt!

Here is a downloadable PDF for you to save or print. Enjoy!

22 responses to “lickity-split fingerless mitts

  1. I’m confused, are these not joined in the round at the start of cast on? After the thumb opening it says to rejoin in a round.

    • Hello Lorraine, thank you for the question. The pattern is missing one line at the beginning, after casting on it should say: “join into round, being careful not to twist stitches”.
      Happy Knitting!!!!

  2. Can I make these without circular needles?

    • Hello,
      Yes you can. Cast on the same amount of stitches and do the ribbing, then stocking stitch in rows (which is knit one row, purl one row) then finish with the 1.5″ of ribbing.
      Seam it together, leaving a space un-sewn just under the 1.5″ inches of ribbing about 1.5-2″ long (this is for your thumb).
      Make another
      You’re done!

  3. I’m a beginner in knitting. How do you make the thumb hole and then how do you continue the round?

    • Hello,
      Perhaps this will help Barb and Marlene and anyone else who is having trouble with the mitts. I hope so.

      After you finish the 2.5 inches of stocking stitch in the round you will essentially stop working in rounds and start working the mitten flat to leave a space for your thumb to poke through. This is how it is done:
      Turn work around so you are looking at the purl side. Insert your needle into the stitch you have just made (the yarn will be attached to this stitch) and purl. Keep purling stitches till you have traveled back to where you first turned. Turn again so you are looking at the knit side. Knit back across all these stitches till you are back at the beginning. Continue purling a row, then knitting a row till the opening for your thumb is 2″. Then start knitting in rounds again. To do this: on a knit row when you get back to the beginning (where you would normally turn) do not turn your work. Instead keep moving forward immediately beginning your K2 P2 pattern again.
      Good luck!!

  4. Beginning knitter here!! I am confused. How do I make the thumb opening if I am joned and knitting in the round??? Thanks for your help!

  5. Love the picture of these fingerless gloves! I’m not a beginner but not super experienced either. I think I understand the pattern and I’m assuming dpns means double pointed needles, but just 2 needles?

    • dpn does indeed stand for double pointed needles. The mit is knit in rounds so you will need to cast on to 3 needles or 4 (your preference) and use a spare to knit around in typical dpn style. Bonne Chance!

  6. Just made a pair of these for my daughter for Christmas – I love them and will find it hard to hand them over to her! Many thanks for the pattern x

  7. This specific post lickity-split fingerless mitts | the knit
    cafe, contains extremely good information and I actually learned just what
    I was basically hoping for. I Appreciate it.

  8. Magnificent site. Plenty of useful info here. I am sending it to
    a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks on your sweat!

  9. I am using a 12″ circular needle to do the mitt. When you say to turn, do you mean to turn the mitt inside out? Would I then use another needle of same size to knit back and forth? I’m slightly confused.

    • kristinledgett

      Hello, I know it is a bit confusing, but the idea is you will stop knitting in rounds and instead start knitting flat to create an opening for your thumb. When the pattern says turn, it means for you to turn your work around so that you are looking at the purl side. Then you will work your stitches in the direction you just came from, but because you are now working on the purl side you will purl your stitches. When you finish purling all your stitches, you will turn again so you are facing the knit side and knit all the stitches. You continue this flat knitting till your thumb hole is big enough, and then you go back to knitting in rounds, no turning with knit two, purl two ribbing.
      Hope this helps.

  10. Howdy I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Askjeeve
    for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a incredible post
    and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do
    keep up the fantastic job.

  11. Gosh. My question must seem really lame but does it say what size needle to use?

    • Yes indeed. In “Materials” it has the recommended yarn followed by 6mm dpn (which stands for double pointed needles)

  12. Do you mean K2 P2 is to knit two stitches and then purl two stitches or is it rows? I have tried that stitches and it has been a disaster.

    • Hello, The K2, P2 does refer to stitches and not rows. The knit two stitches purl two stitches makes the ribbing on the bottom cuff and then again on the top. I’m sorry you are having trouble. Are you moving the position of your yarn to the front before your purl and then to the the back before you knit?

  13. Can you post a video about how to make the thumb hole? Am I turning the piece inside out to purl then turning it back to right side out to knit?

    • You don’t need to turn the mitten inside out. Just turn your knitting around so you can see the the purl bumps on the inside of your mitt. Then work back into the last stitch you knit (the one with the yarn attached) but this time purl as the pattern indicates. When you get to the end of your stitches turn your project over again and work back the other direction in knit stitch. Hope this helps.

Leave a comment