I heart my bike

Over the past couple of weeks I have been staring at a fruit bowl beside my bed, full of odds and ends of pretty yarns. I have been collecting them for a blanket I’m working on.
Because its summer and  I always feel like crocheting this time of the year I decided to make use of some of these colourful ends and make myself a new bike lock cosy. This was a really quick and fun movie watching project.
Here is the pattern:


Yarn: worsted
Crochet hook: 4mm
Circumference of my lock: 1.75 inches.  Depending on the brand of your lock the thickness might be different, so measure your lock’s circumference and add or subtract a stitch to accomidate. Maybe even crochet few rounds and try it on.

CH 8 sts.
Join into a ring.
set up round: SC 8 sts into the centre of the ring all the way around. Continue building up and around with SC until desired length is reached. Measure the length of the U shape (make sure not to cover  the locking part)  and crochet 3 inches inches longer then the actual length. Fasten off.
Weave in ends.

It took a little bit of time to slip the cosy on, but it was fun to do while watching a good movie.

Once in place I embroidered a little heart on my lock, although I’m not that good at it.

If crochet is not your forte you can knit bike lock cozy from leftover sock yarns.

Happy Knitting !!! iwona

5 responses to “I heart my bike

  1. Wow, that is awesome, it makes me want to laugh! I want one for my bike, in fact, for all the bikes here in Cambridge, what a pretty sight that would make at the bike park! Thanks for sharing.

  2. my cherry blossom says hi to your cherry blossom!

  3. I am so making this!!!! Thanks Iwona!

  4. Pingback: L-Squared.Org » Harness Yarnbombing

Leave a comment